Pink Carnations, Jack the Ripper, & Robin Hood, Oh My!

I’ve been reading a book on-and-off by Lauren Willig called The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. The book was pitched to me a while back when Waldenbooks and Borders was still around as a historical fiction novel. That’s true, to some extent, but the true focus is on the romance between the two leads, which is why I’m semi-dragging my feet in completing the novel. I don’t mind romance in my books, but when you’re lead to believe one thing and you get another… So, I’m only really picking the book up and progressing with it when I need something on the lighthearted side.

Instead, I recently purchased a couple YA novels titled Stalking Jack the Ripper and Shadow of the Wolf. The contents of the former is rather obvious, but I found the twist rather intriguing to pick it up: Supposedly, the main character falls in love with Jack? WHO KNOWS!Β The premise is kind of vague on that, but the back of the hardcover hints at it? I’ll see once I crack open the book and start reading. However, the book I’m more excited about is the latter because I’m a sucker for Robin Hood adaptations and that’s what Shadow of the Wolf is. Plus, it’s the first in a trilogy and it sounds ominous which is perfect for October, so bonus!

What books do you plan on reading in October?

Leave a Reply

