Bookish Thoughts & Other Stuff

24612163I recently started reading The Girl on the Train. At this point, I’m about 44 – 45 pages in and I’m on the fence on whether or not to continue. The book is interesting, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not compelling me to consistently turn the page, so to speak. If I have to be honest, the trailer for the movie grabs my attention much better than the book is, so I wonder if it’s just me or if the book just has a slow start? Again, I suppose I’m still too early in the book to make such an assessment, so I’ll try and get into at least triple digit page numbers before I make a decision.

My Planning Journey

Earlier this year I left with my mom to go help her sister after she recieved corrective foot sugery. Knowing that we’d be schlepping my aunt around, I knew I’d need a planner to keep my head straight and I’d seen some neat systems that was heavy into decorating. After some research, I decided that the Happy Planner was the planner for me and proceeded to purchase everything I needed from expansions to pens, stickers, and washi tape.

20160730_204852

Three and half months later I realized that the system was not for me. As much as I loved decorating my spreads every week, I came to understand that all I was really doing was making To Do lists every week and feeling poorly when a day went by and I either accomplished little that day or nothing at all from my list. Then I remembered seeing another system during my research and decided to dig deeper into the Bullet Journal.

20160725_135002

20160828_125319I’m only three to four weeks into using the Bullet Journal system, but so far I have nothing but praise for it (with one or two minor complaints). The system is completely adaptable to your needs and you can do just about anything with the journal. Best of all, however, is if I don’t get to something on any given day, I simply migrate it to the next. And I keep doing that until I get tired of writing it and finally take care of the task or realize that it’s not worth my time anymore and cross it out to, perhaps, return to it one day in the future. That is the beauty of the Bullet Journal system!

And that’s what’s been going on with me. What about you? What are you reading? I hope everyone had a fun-filled Labor Day weekend!

2 thoughts on “Bookish Thoughts & Other Stuff

  1. I looked into starting a bullet journal a while back, but decided against it because my SIL bought me a Happy Planner with a custom cover for Christmas. She also included various inserts, tapes, etc so I feel bad not using it… But the bullet journal just seems so versatile. Not to mention it’s less bulky.

    Like

    1. I felt the same way once I realized the HP wasn’t for me. The nice thing, however, with the Bullet journal is you can decorate it as much as a HP or just stay with the basic/original concept. :D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

