So Long and Thanks for all the Pepsi.

Day #2 of the Knitting and Crochet Blog Week has bloggers setting aside their needles and hooks to talk about the person behind all that yarn. In short, we’re supposed to talk about ourselves–in as detailed or not-so-detailed fashion–about something other than yarnbending (or at least that was the gist I got?). With that in mind, I’m just… gonna dive in and apologize in advance if I go off on a tangent, lol.

This past weekend was sort of an eye opener for me, particularly Saturday when we visited my aunt for her birthday. This particular aunt is sort of the… black sheep of the family and there have been times over the years when I’ve interacted with her that I see a lot of myself in her, which scares the living daylights out of me because she’s in her 50s but has the health problems of someone two or three times her age. As a result, she’s in a continuing care/nursing home after having been rushed to the hospital some months ago. Yes, months ago and no matter how many times we’ve heard her day how much she does not like being in that facility, she just does not want to do the PT that will get her back to living at home and her life (such as it is).

However, I can sort of understand where she’s coming from. Procrastination is one of, and my most singular, problem and is classic ADD behavior. Since my unemployement in ’09, it’s only gotten worse. But, I sort of made this realization Saturday, that if I don’t doΒ something or anything I am going to end up like this aunt that scares me. Being that kind of burden on my parents (more than I already am, I have no doubt) scares me and I finally decided that it’s time to stop whatever it is I’m doing, because in some round about way, I’m hurting myself.

Sunday, when it was nice (gosh it was so nice this past weekend), I pulled my bicycle out from it’s corner of exile in the basement. It’ll still be some time before I can actually ride it (the bike shop we took it to yesterday has a backlog) as the tubes need to be replaced (which I wasn’t surprised at all about lol). As soon as the bike is in my possession again, I plan on doing daily (or near daily) rides with my mom. Bike riding isn’t the only thing I’ll be working on to improve myself, however.

Generally, I think working on my health is the first thing I need to clean up my act on. Over the years I’ve become a night owl and I used to think that making sure I was in bed by 3am at the latest was ok. But the last year or so, my staying up late has gotten worse–Most days I don’t go to sleep until four, five, or sometimes even six in the morning. This means I hardly get up before Noon and this one of the things I’m already working on improving. The end goal is not to be up later than midnight or 1am at the most. Ideally, I’d like be waking up around eight or nine in the morning.

The other thing on my List of Personal Improvements is weaning myself off my love affair with Pepsi. In the picture above, you can’t see it but there is a bottle of Pepsi next to the empty travel bottle/thing/whatever-you-want-to-call-it. When I took the picture it was supposed to be some visual reflection of me as I’m just a mess that like geeky things like Game of Thrones with a love for Pringles and any kind of chip. I just feel like that pile of crap and I’ve decided that it’s time to start working that mess out. My hobbies like crocheting, geeking out about my favorite TV shows, reading, and writing I think help me from going crazier than I already feel along with the deep feeling of just general unaccomplishment in the wake of finding out the bestie bought a condo (that’s sort of what started this whole thought and the visit with my aunt just sort of…. hit the last nail in the coffin and why I need to start doing something, anything to improve myself). Here is hoping I can accomplish these goals and actually stick with them for a change.

P.S. I am so sorry for the long ass post. I didn’t mean for it to happen… it just sort of did. XD

7 thoughts on “So Long and Thanks for all the Pepsi.

  1. Hello Erin. My name is Karen and I am a Pepsi addict too. It is amazing how something so simple can take such a hold. My family and I are doing Whole 30 which involved giving up all sugar so the Pepsi had to go. It’s doable but I really miss it. I’m sure you can give it up too. All the other changes will be hard but I’m sure you can do it. Just one step at a time, and don’t be hard on yourself if you stumble a few times.
    It’s nice to meet you:)

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment, Karen, and your encouraging words! You’re quite right about the Pepsi taking hold — It’ll be the hardest thing to give up, but I think in the end it’ll be worth the most if that makes sense.

      Like

  2. I was a Pepsie addict and gave it up almost a year ago. I still have one occasionally (maybe once a month). It was hard but I find I don’t feel good know when I drink it. Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

