Asylum: Thoughts So Far

So I’m finally getting around to picking up Asylum by Madeleine Roux and let me tell you a thing. Even though I’m only–ashamedly–18 pages into the book, don’t read it with the lights off and a flashlight in hand.

Asylum is the book equivalent of a “found footage” movie complete with pictures. Creepy and eerie pictures I might add, which is why I had to stop 18 pages in lest my imagination run amuck more than it already does. I haven’t had to stop reading a book in that fashion since the first time I ever read The Silent Scream by Diane Hoh. Trust me, when you’re in the 5th grade when reading that book, that one scene with the overhead light was scary! The same can be said for Asylum, which, as a 32-year-old, I’m a bit ashamed to admit since this is a novel geared toward a reading audience almost half my age. But, when there are pictures of pictures with a person’s eyes scratched out, that’s like horror-movie level creepy and that is just something you don’t watch (or read in this case) in the dark.

Nope. Uh-uh. And that’s honestly what makes my short experience with this book so far very, very refreshing for me.

Leave a Reply

